17th OFM Chamber Music Series

Sep 19, 2023 —— Jun 4, 2024

The German orchestra conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt stated that music, besides going hand in hand with the period in which it emerges and develops, is also a necessary and vital element. Accordingly, throughout its various music series the Philharmonic Orchestra of Málaga (OFM) not only sets out to establish a dialogue of enjoyment among members of the audience but also continues along the path of reflecting on the global and everlasting nature of this noble art that is so unique and close to the purest cultural expression of humankind.

The aim in this seventeenth season is to carry on offering superb medleys of pieces from this genre in small format in conjunction with the auditorium at the Museo Picasso de Málaga. The programme draws from the Central European tradition, the many sides of jazz, historical music and the contemporary scene, as well as from Spanish composers, in order to establish a comprehensive overview.


Sep 19, 2023 —— Jun 4, 2024



Book tickets


8.00 p.m.


Museo Picasso Málaga Auditorium


8.00 p.m. Violin and piano duo

Violin: Jesús Reina
Piano: Josu de Solau

Leoš Janáček (1854–1928) - Sonata for violin and piano
Claude Debussy (1862–1918) - Sonata no.3 for violin and piano in G minor, L. 140
George Enescu (1881–1955) - Impressions d’enfance for violin and piano in D mayor, op. 28
Pablo Sarasate (1844–1908) – Bohemian airs for violin and piano, op. 20

8.00 p.m. Sitkovetsky Trio

Violin: Alexander Sitkovetsky
Violoncello: Isang Enders
Piano: Wu Qian

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) - Trio no. 5 in D major, op. 70 no.1, ‘Geister’
Clara Wieck (Schumann) (1819–1896) - Trio for piano in G minor, op. 17

Franz Schubert (1797–1828) - Trio for piano in para piano in B-flat major, op. 99 D. 898

8.00 p.m. Korngold Ensemble Wien

Violins: Ludwig Müller and Tiffany Pei Hsuan Wu
Viola: Cynthia Liao-Zottl
Violoncello: Jonáš Krejčí
Piano: Catalina Butcaru

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957) - Quintet with piano in E major, op. 15
Arnold Schönberg (1874–1951) – Phantasy for violin and piano, op. 47

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) – Quintet with piano in G major, op. 34

8.00 p.m. Piano recital

Piano: Angel Wang (winner of the 63rd international piano competition Premio Jaén)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) - Suite no. 3 in B minor, BWV 814
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) - Sonata for piano no. 32 in C minor, op. 111

Aleksandr Skriabin (1872–1915) – Fantasie in B minor, op. 28
Joaquín Rodrigo (1901–1999) - Cuatro estampas andaluzas
Maurice Ravel (1875–1937) - La Valse (13’)

8.00 p.m. Cuarteto con Fuoco

Violin: Nicolae Ciocan
Violin: Raúl Baixauli
Viola: Razvan Cociodar
Violoncello: Carlos González

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791) – String quartet no. 19 in C major, KV 465, ‘Dissonances’

Franz Schubert (1797–1828) – String quartet no. 13 in A minor, op. 29 D. 804, ‘Rosamund Quartet’

8.00 p.m. Arturo Serra Ensemble - Ralph Towner Music

Vibraphone: Arturo Serra
Piano: José Carra
Violin: Nicolae Ciocan
Violin: Raúl Baixauli
Viola: Razvan Cociodar
Double bass: Carlos González

Ralph Towner (with arrangements by Arturo Serra and José Carra)

  • Caminata
  • Joyful Departure
  • Magic pouch
  • Mingusiana
  • The Juggler’s Etude
  • The Reluctant Bride
  • Tramonto
  • Turning of The Leaves

8.00 p.m. Quinteto de Cuerdas Schubert

Violins: Fumika Yamamura and Ángel Marote
Viola: Gabriel Bussi
Violoncello: Elena Escalza
Double bass: Fernando Rodrigues
Mezzosoprano: Joana Thomé da Silva

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)

  • Divertimento in D major, KV. 136 (K. 125a),
  • Salzburg Symphony no. 1

Gabriel Bussi (1975) - Bagatella no. 2*

Gabriel Bussi (1975) - Sol de medianoche**

*In string quintet version.
** For female voice and reduced version for string quintet with double bass.

8.00 p.m. Austri Musici

Violins: Cecilia Blanes and Lucía Barrero
Viola: Razvan Cociodar
Violoncello: Carlos Puerto

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937) – String quartet in F major

Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)

  • String quartet no. 12 in G major, op. 96 B. 179
  • American quartet

8.00 p.m. Concerti a 5

Oboes: José Antonio Gonzaga and Pedro Cusac
Violins: Lucía Barrero and María Vizcaíno
Viola: Marta Villanueva
Violoncello: Violeta Albert
Double bass: Claudia Albuixech
Clave: María Teresa García

Tomaso Albinoni (1671–1751)

  • Concerto a 5 in C major for two oboes, op. 9 no. 9
  • Concerto a 5 in D major for two oboes, op. 7 no. 8
  • Concerto a 5 in B flat, op. 7 no. 10
  • Concerto a 5 in C major for two oboes, op. 7 no. 11
  • Concerto a 5 in D major for two oboes, op. 9 no. 12
  • Concerto a 5 in G major, op. 7 no. 4
  • Concerto a 5 in G major for two oboes, op. 9 no. 6

8.00 p.m. Quintet with clarinet of the OFM

Clarinet: Emilio Montoya
Violins: Alicia Ruiz and María Vizcaíno
Violas: Francisco Ruiz
Violoncello: Carlos Puerto

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) – Quintet for clarinet and strings in B minor, op. 115

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) – String quartet no. 1 in C minor, op. 51 no. 1